Aktuální koncerty

Previous month Previous day Next day Next month


Piano Recital - Marek Kozák

Wednesday, 8. May 2019

Grandhotel Ambassador

Recommended events



Reservations Ticket

PETR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY: Six Piano Pieces op. 19

SERGEI PROKOFIEFF: Sonata no. 2 in D minor op. 14

SERGEI RACHMANINOFF: Preludes op. 23 (selection)

SERGEI RACHMANINOFF: Études – Tableaux op. 39

SERGEI RACHMANINOFF: Sonata no. 2 in B-flat minor op. 36

Marek Kozák – Piano

Piano virtuoso Marek Kozák has won awards at competitions from a very young age due to his exceptional talent. In addition to studying the piano, he eventually started studying the organ as well. He is a laureate of many international competitions. Among his most dazzling results was his participation in the semi-finals of the International Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw in the year 2015, which takes place once every five years and is considered one of the most famous and largest piano competitions in the world, as well as second place at the prestigious competition Prague Spring in the year 2016. Marek Kozák performs with the foremost Czech orchestras, and as a soloist he regularly gives concerts also abroad.

He will begin the recital with a work by Peter Illyich Tchaikovsky (1840 – 1893), Six Piano Pieces. Tchaikovsky finished the cycle in the fall of 1873, it is unclear when the individual parts were created.

When Sergei Prokofieff’s (1891 – 1953) Sonata no. 2 in D-minor was first performed on January 5th, 1914 at the Moscow Conservatory, it shocked listeners with the bold sound with which the composer set the dissonant flow of his music into a classical formation such as a sonata. However, it was not simply some original fad but an expression of an important period of modern music – neoclassicism.

From the works of Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873 – 1943), he will first play a selection from the cycle Preludes, which belongs among the author’s bests works for the solo piano. The ten preludes are each different in their level of difficulty.

Études-tableaux from the year 1911 are the first of two sets of piano études. They are compositions – paintings, which musically evoke external visual stimuli. However, Rachmaninoff did not specify the inspiration behind each piece, allowing the listeners to create their own idea.

Rachmaninoff composed Sonata no. 2 in B-flat minor in the year 1913. When he first performed this piece in Moscow, it was well-received, however the author was unsatisfied with his work. He was convinced that there were numerous superfluous moments in the piece. Therefore, he revised the composition in 1931.